//
you're reading...
Family, Friends

“I wonder what the poor people are doing?”

So I was hunting a few months back with my buddy Brad (Brad Remfrey is such an amazing guy! He is one of the best and most loyal friends in the world!) and we were up on top of a mountain looking out at the valley below, when he said somehting to me that I will never forget! He said, I wonder what the poor people are doing right now?” At first it didn’t register with me and then it hit me that he wasn’t talking about the type of riches that we commonly associate with wealth. He was talking about the riches that we experience through God’s creation and the priceless moment that we were sharing as friends. It really impacted me and has stuck with me when I start to get frustrated and my current financial situation or with the fact that I can’t buy something that I really want. I am by no means finacially poor, but I do not have a lot of money. But money is not what is going to last. In that moment up on top of that mountain I was rich. Rich with friendship. Rich with God’s creation and rich with an understanding of what really matters in life. I love it because when you really break it down, we are all rich with blessings – we just sometimes lack the perspective to see them!

Brad told me after he has said it that his dad used to say that phrase when they were hunting together. Brad’s dad has past away, but he has left an amazing legacy with that statement! Thanks Brad for sharing that with me – I am grounded by that statement often and I want to pass that on to my kids as well!

“I wonder what the poor people are doing?”

About chipneal

I am 31 years old, married to Amy and have three kids Cana and Jackson and Malina. I am an insurance producer with Gillespie Insurance Services in Redlands California. I enjoy the outdoors, mountain biking, Hikeing, Surfing and mostly spending time with my family. I am interested in life and what makes people tick.

Discussion

One thought on ““I wonder what the poor people are doing?”

  1. Mike Richards always uses that phrase, but I think it’s because he hates poor people. (haha)

    Posted by Eli Gillespie | May 29, 2009, 1:31 am

Leave a Reply

